Kids Library Home

Welcome to the PrairieCat Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Available items only
Author Lundestad, Geir, 1945- author.

Title 'The world's most prestigious prize' : the inside story of the Nobel Peace Prize / Geir Lundestad.

Publication Info. Oxford, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2019.


Location Pub Note Copy No. Status
 DeKalb PL Adult Non-Fiction - DKLY-12  303.66079 LUN    AVAILABLE
 East Moline PL Adult Non-Fiction - EMPG-1  HISTORY 303.6607 LUN    AVAILABLE
 Rock Island Main Lib Adult Non-Fiction - RIPG-1  001.4409 LUN    AVAILABLE
Edition First edition.
Description viii, 229 pages ; 24 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 193-198) and index.
Contents The Nobel Peace Prize : past and present -- Alfred Nobel and his will -- The Nobel Peace Prize, 1901-1914 : arbitration -- The Nobel Peace Prize, 1919-1939 : The League of Nations -- The Nobel Peace Prize, 1945-2018 : The United Nations -- Ten portraits, 1990-2012. Mikhael Gorbachev (1990), Aung San Suu Kyi (1991), Nelson Mandela and Frederik Willem de Klerk (1993), Yasser Arafat, Shimon Peres, and Yitzhak Rabin (1994), Kim Dae-jung (2000), The UN and Kofi Annan (2001), Jimmy Carter (2002), Barack H. Obama (2009), Liu Xiabo (2010), The European Union (2012) -- Conclusions.
Summary The World's Most Prestigious Prize: The Inside Story of the Nobel Peace Prize is a fascinating, insider account of the Nobel peace prize. Drawing on unprecedented access to the Norwegian Nobel Institute's vast archive, it offers a gripping account of the founding of the prize, as well as its highs and lows, triumphs and disasters, over the last one-hundred-and-twenty years. But more than that, the book also draws on the author's unique insight during his twenty-five years as Director of the Norwegian Nobel Institute and Secretary of the Norwegian Nobel Committee. It reveals the real story of all the laureates of that period - some of them among the most controversial in the history of the prize (Gorbachev, Arafat, Peres and Rabin, Mandela and De Klerk, Obama, and Liu Xiaobo) - and exactly why they came to receive the prize. Despite all that has been written about the Nobel Peace Prize, this is the first-ever account written by a prominent insider in the Nobel system.
Subject Nobel Prizes -- History.
Peace -- Awards.
Nobel Prize winners -- History.
REFERENCE / General.
Nobel Prize winners. (OCoLC)fst01741182
Nobel Prizes. (OCoLC)fst01038249
Peace -- Awards. (OCoLC)fst01055762
Peace-building. (OCoLC)fst01055902
Genre/Form History. (OCoLC)fst01411628
ISBN 0198841876 hardback
9780198841876 hardback

Available items only