Kids Library Home

Welcome to the PrairieCat Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Available items only
Author Thomson, Virgil, 1896-1989.

Title American music since 1910. With an introd. by Nicolas Nabokov.

Publication Info. New York : Holt, Rinehart and Winston, [1971]


Location Pub Note Copy No. Status
 Highland CC Stacks - HCCY-13  ML200.5 .T5    AVAILABLE
 LaSalle PL Adult Non Fiction - LSBB-3  780.973 T    AVAILABLE
 Rockford University Stacks - RKC-ILDS  ML200.5 .T5    AVAILABLE
Edition [First edition].
Description xvi, 204 pages : illustrations, facsimiles, music, portraits ; 23 cm.
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Series Twentieth-century composers ; v. 1
Twentieth-century composers ; v. 1.
Bibliography Bibliography: pages 187-189.
Contents America's musical maturity.--American musical traits.--The Ives case.--Ruggles.--Varèse.--Aaron Copland.--Looking backward.--Cage and the collage of noises.--Let us now praise famous men.--The operas of Virgil Thomson, by V. F. Yellin.--Music in Latin America, by G. Chase.--106 American composers.
Subject Music -- United States -- History and criticism.
Music -- History and criticism -- 20th century.
Composers -- United States -- Biography.
Music -- United States -- 20th century -- History and criticism.
Composers -- United States -- Biography.
Musique -- États-Unis -- 20e siècle -- Histoire et critique
Compositeurs -- États-Unis -- Biographies
ISBN 0030764653

Available items only